• Summary
  • Dates
  • Venue
  • Credits

Summary

Where Do We Go From Here?  is a groundbreaking kinetic artwork created by the award-winning Jason Bruges Studio that uses light, robotics and sound to create a unique immersive experience in the streets of Hull’s historic old town, one that also asks questions of the viewer.

The scale of Jason Bruges Studio’s artwork set against the medieval layout of Hull’s streets creates a visually stunning piece of art unlike anything ever seen in a public space before. It is designed to build on Hull’s reputation as a place where the surprising happens and globally significant art is commissioned and displayed.

With robotics at its heart, Where Do We Go From Here? also speaks to the ambitions of the city as technology and innovation supersede old industries to meet the demands of the 21st century.

Jason Bruges Studio’s thrilling mix of art and technology embodies key themes for Hull as it reflects on an extraordinary year of change, not just for the city, but globally. At a time of political uncertainty at home and abroad, it also asks important questions: What kind of place do we want to live in? What role should culture play? Where do we go from here?

The title of the commission, Where Do We Go From Here?, is a deliberate provocation designed to get individuals reflecting upon their city’s future. It invites everyone to take part in a timely conversation about art, culture and society.

Join the conversation online using #WhereDoWeGo

 

OPENING TIMES

Where Do We Go From Here? is open to the public from 17:00 to 21:00 each day and runs from 1 December 2017 to 7 January 2018 (excluding Christmas Day and Boxing Day).

 

LOCATIONS

The artwork is being installed at the following locations in Hull’s Old Town:

– Beverley Gate (The Gatekeepers)

– Trinity Square (An Inquisitive Acquaintance)

– Wilberforce House (Conversation)

– Museum Gardens (Streetlife)

 

ARTIST TALK

Want to find out more about how art and technology combine to create stimulating cultural experiences? Jason Bruges will be delivering a free talk at Middleton Hall on Mon 4 Dec at 7pm, so head down to learn more about this spectacular piece of work.


Event Type

  • Family Friendly

Suitability

All ages

Date Time Price  
Mon 18 Dec 5.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 19 Dec 5.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 20 Dec 5.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 21 Dec 5.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 22 Dec 5.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 23 Dec 5.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 24 Dec 5.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 27 Dec 5.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 28 Dec 5.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 29 Dec 5.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 30 Dec 5.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 31 Dec 5.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 1 Jan 5.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 2 Jan 5.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 3 Jan 5.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 4 Jan 5.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 5 Jan 5.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 6 Jan 5.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 7 Jan 5.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary

Venue

If you have purchased a ticket for an event/activity at this venue through hull2017.co.uk, please do not contact the venue direct with enquiries for that purchase as they will be unable to help.

Opening times

Monday Not specified
Tuesday Not specified
Wednesday Not specified
Thursday Not specified
Friday Not specified
Saturday Not specified
Sunday Not specified

Creative Credits

Supported by Arts Council England and Spirit of 2012.