• Summary
  • Dates
  • Venue

Summary

Turner Prize, one of the world’s most renowned art prizes, is awarded by Tate to an artist who has exhibited outstanding work in the previous year. The four shortlisted artists for 2017 will exhibit their work at Ferens Art Gallery, Hull, from September with the overall winner announced in early December.

Through genres such as portraiture, landscape and still life, the four artists explore how art is able to respond to political and social upheaval.

Discover more about Turner Prize 2017 winner Lubaina Himid.

More info

For information about travel, group bookings and other useful information about the exhibition, take a look at our Turner Prize 2017 – FAQS.

You can learn more about the Turner Prize 2017 exhibition in our guide to the shortlisted artists, then meet the jury who’ll decide the winner.

Opening times

Ferens Art Gallery opening times are:

Monday-Wednesday: 10am-5pm
Thursday: 10am-7.30pm
Friday-Saturday: 10am-5pm
Sunday: 11am-4.30pm

The gallery will be closed between 24 – 28 December for the Christmas period, closing early at 4pm on 23 and 31 December. The gallery will also be closed on New Year’s Day.

Please note – last entry to the gallery is 30 minutes before closing time.

Accessibility

To book for any of the accessible events in the Turner Prize 2017 programme, including Audio Described and BSL Interpreted tours, please email access@hull2017.co.uk.

Public Programme

Discover more about our public programme of workshops, tours and events, including our late-night Turner // Return.


Event Type

  • Family Friendly

Date Time Price  
Fri 15 Dec 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 16 Dec 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 17 Dec 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 18 Dec 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 19 Dec 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 20 Dec 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 21 Dec 11.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 22 Dec 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 23 Dec 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 29 Dec 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 30 Dec 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 31 Dec 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 2 Jan 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 3 Jan 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 4 Jan 11.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 5 Jan 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 6 Jan 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 7 Jan 10.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary

Venue

Queen Victoria Square
Hull
HU1 3RA
01482 300 300

www.hcandl.co.uk/ferens

If you have purchased a ticket for an event/activity at this venue through hull2017.co.uk, please do not contact the venue direct with enquiries for that purchase as they will be unable to help.

Social Channels

Venue Access

  • Accessible Toilets
  • Assistance Dogs
  • Baby Changing
  • Hearing Loop
  • Level Access
  • Wheelchair Access

Opening times

Monday 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 10am - 5pm
Wednesday 10am - 5pm
Thursday 10am - 7.30pm
Friday 10am - 5pm
Saturday 10am - 5pm
Sunday 11am - 4.30pm