• Summary
  • Dates
  • Venue

Summary

Between 1848 and 1914, more than two million people arrived into Hull by ship from mainland Europe, and left by train to the transatlantic ports of Liverpool and Southampton, seeking new lives in the New World.

This mass movement of people, many of whom were in Hull for just a few hours, ended abruptly with the outbreak of the First World War.

Claire Barber’s installation at Hull’s Paragon Station, part of the Look Up programme, explores the phenomenon of ‘transmigration’, and the notion that skills and belongings traverse transport routes alongside people.

“My work is partly inspired by social narrative painting made at the time of transmigration, which captures loss, lament and excitement at a new beginning.

“It’s also drawn from personal travelling experiences, through Outer Mongolia, Australia, New Zealand and Iceland, and particularly the idea of looking at what people take with them on a journey, both as luggage and in terms of their culture and craft skill.

“The transmigrants carried large woven baskets on their journey through Hull, and brought skills such as double cloth weaving, while absorbing the skills of others. They adapted their techniques to the materials available to them in a new country.

“The train station today, with its constant movement of people, continues to mirror the weaving process: the action of double weaving, layers crossing over layers, countless patterns created every time people enter and exit. As individuals weave in and out, carrying luggage that reflects who they are, they too add and take new influences in an ever-changing space.”

If you would like to book a place for the BSL Interpreted talk please email us on access@hull2017.co.uk. Spaces are limited and offered on a first-come, first-served basis.


Event Type

  • Family Friendly

Suitability

All ages

Date Time Price  
Thu 25 May 12.00am Free  
Fri 26 May 12.00am Free  
Sat 27 May 12.00am Free  
Sun 28 May 12.00am Free  
Mon 29 May 12.00am Free  
Tue 30 May 12.00am Free  
Wed 31 May 12.00am Free  
Thu 1 Jun 12.00am Free  
Fri 2 Jun 12.00am Free  
Sat 3 Jun 12.00am Free  
Sun 4 Jun 12.00am Free  
Mon 5 Jun 12.00am Free  
Tue 6 Jun 12.00am Free  
Wed 7 Jun 12.00am Free  
Thu 8 Jun 12.00am Free  
Fri 9 Jun 12.00am Free  
Sat 10 Jun 12.00am Free  
Sun 11 Jun 12.00am Free  
Mon 12 Jun 12.00am Free  
Tue 13 Jun 12.00am Free  
Wed 14 Jun 12.00am Free  
Thu 15 Jun 12.00am Free  
Fri 16 Jun 12.00am Free  
Sat 17 Jun 12.00am Free  
Sun 18 Jun 12.00am Free  
Mon 19 Jun 12.00am Free  
Tue 20 Jun 12.00am Free  
Wed 21 Jun 12.00am Free  
Thu 22 Jun 12.00am Free  
Fri 23 Jun 12.00am Free  
Sat 24 Jun 12.00am Free  
Sun 25 Jun 12.00am Free  
Mon 26 Jun 12.00am Free  
Tue 27 Jun 12.00am Free  
Wed 28 Jun 12.00am Free  
Thu 29 Jun 12.00am Free  

Venue

Ferensway
Hull
HU1 3UT
0871 244 1638

If you have purchased a ticket for an event/activity at this venue through hull2017.co.uk, please do not contact the venue direct with enquiries for that purchase as they will be unable to help.

Venue Access

  • Assistance Dogs
  • Blue-Badge Parking
  • Level Access

Opening times

Monday 5am – 12am
Tuesday 5am – 12am
Wednesday 5am – 12am
Thursday 5am – 12am
Friday 5am – 12am
Saturday 5am – 12am
Sunday 5am – 12am