• Summary
  • Dates
  • Venue

Summary

This major commission for Hull 2017, by the artist Michael Pinsky, functions as a 21st-century Speakers’ Corner. Your spoken words are translated to text and relayed on the west tower of Hull’s tidal surge barrier.

On the quayside of Humber Dock Street, a steel lectern provides a platform where you can broadcast your thoughts and feelings. A microphone captures your words, and software transcribes them into a scrolling dot-matrix text on the tidal surge barrier.

The plinth and the tidal barrier perfectly align at each end of Humber Street, allowing you, the speaker, to see your own speech being displayed across Hull, embodied into one of the city’s architectural icons.

Michael Pinsky said: “Hull’s tidal surge barrier, the site for this work, plays a significant role in protecting the city from flooding. It has become a gateway guarding the future of Hull, not unlike Beverley Gate where, in 1642, Sir John Hotham refused Charles I entry to the city. This act of defiance in the defence of independence is widely acknowledged as the spark that ignited the English Civil War. These principles of resistance and protection lie at the core of The City Speaks. This installation gives a new voice to the people of Hull and, in doing so, celebrates resilience and freedom.”

The City Speaks is part of the Look Up programme of artists’ commissions for the city’s public spaces. It was developed with The Light Lab and realised with the cooperation of the Environment Agency.

Visit the Fruit Market and have your say.

#TheCitySpeaks


Event Type

  • Family Friendly

Suitability

All ages

Date Time Price  
Sat 19 Aug 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 20 Aug 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 21 Aug 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 22 Aug 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 23 Aug 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 24 Aug 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 25 Aug 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 26 Aug 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 27 Aug 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 28 Aug 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 29 Aug 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 30 Aug 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 31 Aug 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 1 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 2 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 3 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 4 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 5 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 6 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 7 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 8 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 9 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 10 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 11 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 12 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 13 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 14 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 15 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 16 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 17 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 18 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 19 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 20 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 21 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 22 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 23 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 24 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 25 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 26 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 27 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 28 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 29 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 30 Sep 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 1 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 2 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 3 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 4 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 5 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 6 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 7 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 8 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 9 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 10 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 11 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 12 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 13 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 14 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 15 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 16 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 17 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 18 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 19 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 20 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 21 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 22 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 23 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 24 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 25 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 26 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 27 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 28 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 29 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 30 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 31 Oct 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 1 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 2 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 3 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 4 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 5 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 6 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 7 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 8 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 9 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 10 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 11 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 12 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 13 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 14 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 15 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 16 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 17 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 18 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 19 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 20 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 21 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 22 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 23 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 24 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 25 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 26 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 27 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 28 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 29 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 30 Nov 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 1 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 2 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 3 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 4 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 5 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 6 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 7 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 8 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 9 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 10 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 11 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 12 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 13 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 14 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 15 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 16 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 17 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 18 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 19 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 20 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 21 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 22 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 23 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 24 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 25 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 26 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 27 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 28 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 29 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 30 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 31 Dec 12.01am TBC  
Add to Itinerary

Venue

Humber Street and beyond
HU1 1TU

http://www.fruitmarkethull.co.uk/

If you have purchased a ticket for an event/activity at this venue through hull2017.co.uk, please do not contact the venue direct with enquiries for that purchase as they will be unable to help.

Venue Access

  • Assistance Dogs
  • Baby Changing

Opening times

Monday 10am - 6pm
Tuesday 10am - 6pm
Wednesday 10am - 6pm
Thursday 10am - 8pm
Friday 10am - 6pm
Saturday 10am - 6pm
Sunday 10am - 6pm