• Summary
  • Dates
  • Venue
  • Credits

Summary

Stendhal syndrome is a disorder that causes rapid heartbeat, dizziness, fainting, confusion and even hallucinations when an individual is exposed to too much culture/art.

19th-century French author Stendhal (pseudonym of Marie-Henri Beyle) described his experience with the phenomenon during his 2017 visit to Hull:

“I was in a sort of ecstasy, from the idea of being in Hull
…absorbed in the contemplation of sublime beauty…
I reached the point where one encounters celestial sensations…
Everything spoke so vividly to my soul.
Ah, if I could only forget.
I had palpitations of the heart, what in Berlin they call ‘nerves.’ Life was drained from me.
I walked with the fear of falling”

Stendhal Syndrome is a group show from Kingston Art Group featuring work from everyone; its studio members; associate members; the studio waiting list; previous exhibitors; friends; friends of friends. The kind of artists we like to tell the world about.

Everything (well probably nearly everything) will be for sale and Pret-a-Porter (so you can take it home with you). Chairs will be provided in case it all gets a bit too much for you.

Suitability

All ages

Date Time Price  
Sat 23 Dec 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 24 Dec 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 30 Dec 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 31 Dec 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 6 Jan 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 7 Jan 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 13 Jan 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 14 Jan 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 20 Jan 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 21 Jan 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 27 Jan 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 28 Jan 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 3 Feb 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 4 Feb 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 10 Feb 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 11 Feb 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 17 Feb 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 18 Feb 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 24 Feb 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 25 Feb 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary

Venue

27-26 Humber St
Hull
HU1

http://www.kingstonartgroup.co.uk/

If you have purchased a ticket for an event/activity at this venue through hull2017.co.uk, please do not contact the venue direct with enquiries for that purchase as they will be unable to help.

Social Channels

Instagram

Venue Access

  • Assistance Dogs
  • Level Access

Opening times

Monday Closed
Tuesday Closed
Wednesday Closed
Thursday Closed
Friday 1pm-6pm
Saturday 11.30pm-5pm
Sunday 11.30pm-5pm

Creative Credits

Kingston Art Group