• Summary
  • Dates
  • Venue
  • Credits

Summary

One of the most radical changes during the war was the huge change in women’s lives. With the men away fighting, more than one million women went to work for the first time. These new responsibilities led to a new look, and a century later, this era has inspired Fashion & Freedom, an ambitious, multi-faceted exhibition that examines the fashion legacy of the First World War.

From the doyenne of British fashion, Vivienne Westwood, to London-based Roksanda Ilincic and rising star J. JS Lee, leading female designers create contemporary pieces inspired by the profound changes in women’s dress.

Exquisite craftsmanship courtesy of fashion stalwarts Emilia Wickstead, Holly Fulton and Sadie Williams are also on display.

A series of specially commissioned original short films complement the garments, including films by directors from Nick Knight’s award-winning SHOWstudio and Luke Snellin, who wrote and directed First, which reimagines a young woman’s first day as a bus conductor.

Exhibition open from noon to 4pm. Closed on Mondays.


Event Type

  • Family Friendly

Date Time Price  
Sat 19 Aug 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 20 Aug 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 22 Aug 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 23 Aug 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 24 Aug 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 25 Aug 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 26 Aug 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 27 Aug 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 29 Aug 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 30 Aug 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 31 Aug 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 1 Sep 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 2 Sep 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 3 Sep 12.00pm Free  
Add to Itinerary

Venue

Princes Dock Street
Hull
HU1 1PQ
01482 586622

www.princesquay.com

If you have purchased a ticket for an event/activity at this venue through hull2017.co.uk, please do not contact the venue direct with enquiries for that purchase as they will be unable to help.

Social Channels

Venue Access

  • Accessible Toilets
  • Assistance Dogs
  • Baby Changing
  • Blue-Badge Parking
  • Wheelchair Access

Opening times

Monday 9am – 5.30pm
Tuesday 9am – 5.30pm
Wednesday 9am – 5.30pm
Thursday 9am – 5.30pm
Friday 9am – 5.30pm
Saturday 9am – 6pm
Sunday 10.30am-4.30pm

Creative Credits

Co-commissioned by 14-18 NOW and Manchester Art Gallery, supported by the British Fashion Council.

Co-commissioned by 14-18 NOW: WW1 Centenary Art Commissions, supported by the National Lottery through the Heritage Lottery Fund and Arts Council England, and by the Department for Culture, Media and Sport.