• Summary
  • Venue


English Symphony Orchestra

Kenneth Woods: Conductor

Simon Desbruslais: Trumpet


Clare Hammond: Piano
Deborah Pritchard – Concertante Piece, Trumpet and Strings (world premiere)
Nimrod Borenstein – Concerto for Piano, Trumpet and Strings (world premiere)
Tchaikovsky – Serenade for Strings

This festive concert brings together one of Britain’s most exciting orchestras with two of today’s leading young soloists and two of today’s leading young composers. Simon Desbruslais has been hailed by critics worldwide for his steel-lipped virtuosity and Clare Hammond has just been name the winner of the 2016 Royal Philharmonic Society Young Artist Award, one of the highest honours in British musical life. Together, Clare and Simon form ‘Fanfare,’ today’s pre-eminent trumpet and piano duo, and join forces in Hull to premiere new concertante works for piano, trumpet and strings by Deborah Pritchard, of whose music Gramophone Magazine recently said ‘everyone once in a while, a piece of music comes along that simply takes your breath away,’ and Nimrod Borenstein, whose music has recently lit up the stage of the Royal Festival Hall with the Philharmonia. The concert culminates in a performance of Tchaikovsky’s beautiful and beguiling string Serenade for Strings by an orchestra being hailed as one of the UK’s most virtuosic and innovative ensembles under the baton of their popular conductor, Kenneth Woods.


Middleton Hall
University of Hull
Cottingham Road
01482 465341


If you have purchased a ticket for an event/activity at this venue through hull2017.co.uk, please do not contact the venue direct with enquiries for that purchase as they will be unable to help.

Social Channels

Venue Access

  • Accessible Toilets
  • Assistance Dogs
  • Blue-Badge Parking
  • Wheelchair Access

Opening times

Monday Varies
Tuesday Varies
Wednesday Varies
Thursday Varies
Friday Varies
Saturday Varies
Sunday Varies