• Summary
  • Dates
  • Venue

Summary

Claire Morgan was born in Belfast, Northern Ireland. Her installations have been seen all over the world.

For Hull 2017, she has created a striking, large scale work to be suspended in the atrium of Princes Quay shopping centre.

“With my installations, I hope to create things that provoke thought, wonder and something of the impossible or the unknown. A theme I constantly come back to is time, the passing of time and how it shapes our lives as we try to control it and halt it”

“I tend to draw a lot of different, often conflicting things together: nature and our difficult relationship with the rest of the living world, contemporary life, industry, popular culture, mortality and how these things are intertwined.”

“Elephant in the Room, which incorporates suspended fragments of paper, is a direct, specific response to its location: the function of the place and its physical position, located over the water. It’s also a response to Hull’s past, particularly its maritime history and how that history might fit into our contemporary world”.

To see more of Claire’s work – visit her website.

There will be a BSL interpreted tour of Elephant in the Room on 12 September at 12pm and a touch tour of the work on 14 September at 12pm. To book onto either access tour please email access@hull2017.co.uk 

 

Date Time Price  
Wed 20 Sep 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 21 Sep 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 22 Sep 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 23 Sep 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 24 Sep 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 25 Sep 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 26 Sep 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 27 Sep 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 28 Sep 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 29 Sep 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 30 Sep 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 1 Oct 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 2 Oct 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 3 Oct 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 4 Oct 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 5 Oct 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 6 Oct 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 7 Oct 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 8 Oct 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 9 Oct 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 10 Oct 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 11 Oct 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 12 Oct 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 13 Oct 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 14 Oct 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 15 Oct 9.00am Free  
Add to Itinerary

Venue

Princes Dock Street
Hull
HU1 1PQ
01482 586622

www.princesquay.com

If you have purchased a ticket for an event/activity at this venue through hull2017.co.uk, please do not contact the venue direct with enquiries for that purchase as they will be unable to help.

Social Channels

Venue Access

  • Accessible Toilets
  • Assistance Dogs
  • Baby Changing
  • Blue-Badge Parking
  • Wheelchair Access

Opening times

Monday 9am – 5.30pm
Tuesday 9am – 5.30pm
Wednesday 9am – 5.30pm
Thursday 9am – 5.30pm
Friday 9am – 5.30pm
Saturday 9am – 6pm
Sunday 10.30am-4.30pm