• Summary
  • Dates
  • Venue

Summary

by James Graham
directed by Mark Babych

January 2018, and a busy day at the offices of Hull 2017. Today is the ceremonial handover to ambassadors from the next City of Culture – (insert name here) 2021. Meanwhile, the monitoring and evaluation team have to present The Audit – a measurement of the impact ‘the culture’ has had on the city. Can their logic models, outcome evaluations and statistical analyses really measure its impact on the people of Hull? The visiting Ministers from the Department of Culture, Media and Sport certainly expect so.

What could go wrong…?

Only, perhaps, Dennis, an average citizen who arrives into the offices of Hull 2017 at the Pacific Exchange, fresh off his bus into town, to register a complaint. A chance misunderstanding and a crossed wire later, and Howard finds himself at the centre of events that could bring the whole thing to its knees.

The Culture is a satirical farce in two acts, examining the ‘culture’ of culture, and the inner workings of the Hull 2017 project.

Playwright James Graham (writer of Ink and Labour of Love which ran concurrently in the West End in 2017; This House nominated for the Olivier Best Play award; and The Vote, nominated for a BAFTA) was granted behind the scenes access to the running of the year-long festival.

Tickets

EVES £22.50 – £15
MAT £16 – £12
CONC. £3 OFF (EXCL. MAT)

Date Time Price  
Fri 26 Jan 7.30pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 27 Jan 7.30pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 28 Jan 7.30pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 29 Jan 7.30pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 30 Jan 7.30pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 31 Jan 7.30pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 1 Feb 7.30pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 2 Feb 7.30pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 3 Feb 2.00pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 3 Feb 7.30pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 4 Feb 7.30pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 5 Feb 7.30pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 6 Feb 7.30pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 7 Feb 2.00pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 7 Feb 7.30pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 8 Feb 7.30pm £15 - £22.50
  •  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 9 Feb 7.30pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 10 Feb 2.00pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 10 Feb 7.30pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 11 Feb 7.30pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 12 Feb 7.30pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 13 Feb 7.30pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 14 Feb 2.00pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 14 Feb 7.30pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 15 Feb 7.30pm £15 - £22.50
  •  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 16 Feb 7.30pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 17 Feb 2.00pm £15 - £22.50
  •  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 17 Feb 7.30pm £15 - £22.50  
Add to Itinerary

Venue

Hull Truck Theatre
50 Ferensway
Hull
HU2 8LB
01482 323638

http://www.hulltruck.co.uk

If you have purchased a ticket for an event/activity at this venue through hull2017.co.uk, please do not contact the venue direct with enquiries for that purchase as they will be unable to help.

Venue Access

  • Accessible Toilets
  • Baby Changing
  • Blue-Badge Parking
  • Hearing Loop
  • Level Access
  • Wheelchair Access

Opening times

Monday 10am - 5.30pm (or 30 mins prior to show time)
Tuesday 10am - 5.30pm (or 30 mins prior to show time)
Wednesday 10am - 5.30pm (or 30 mins prior to show time)
Thursday 10am - 5.30pm (or 30 mins prior to show time)
Friday 10am - 5.30pm (or 30 mins prior to show time)
Saturday 10am - 5.30pm (or 30 mins prior to show time)
Sunday Closed (or from 1 hour prior to show time)