• Summary
  • Venue

Summary

During the summer holidays we’ll be visiting five different libraries a week so you can get involved in each weeks’ Challenge Hull.

Week 1 is a little different as we’ll be heading to three parks across the city to help you complete this outdoor themed Challenge Hull.

Don’t forget to share your creativity online using #ChallengeHull!

Summer Week 1 – Explore Your Park

There’s something about the fresh air that makes us all feel good. The Leisure and Parks team at Hull Culture and Leisure Ltd agree and have set you a challenge this week to celebrate the great outdoors. Look for something outside that’s new to you and photograph it, draw it or write about it.

Wednesday 26 July, 11am–2pm – East Park
Thursday 27 July, 12pm–3pm – Shaw Park
Friday 28 July, 11am–3pm – King George Playing Field

Summer Week 2 – Make A Puppet

In light of National Playday this week, Lemon Tree Children’s Centre are asking you to express and share your inner child or alter-ego. Make a puppet using any materials you have to hand. 

Monday 31 July, 10am–12pm – Bransholme Library
Tuesday 1 August, 10am–12pm – Central Library
Wednesday 2 August, 10am–12pm – Gipsyville Library
Thursday 3 August, 10am–12pm – Freedom Centre Library
Friday 4 August, 10am–12pm – Greenwood Library

Summer Week 3 – Collection Collage

‘One man’s trash is another man’s treasure…’ or so the old saying goes! This week, Hull City Council’s Area Team are challenging you to embrace this. Collect items that can be used to create a collage.

Monday 7 August, 10am–12pm – Bransholme Library
Tuesday 8 August, 10am–12pm – Central Library
Wednesday 9 August, 10am–12pm – Gipsyville Library
Thursday 10 August, 10am–12pm – Freedom Centre Library
Friday 11 August, 10am–12pm – Greenwood Library

Summer Week 4 – Origam-U

Paper can be made into so much more than the material we write on, that’s why this week the Goodwin Development Trust are challenging you to consider this… What origami can U make? 

Monday 14 August, 10am– 12pm – Bransholme Library
Tuesday 15 August, 10am–12pm – Central Library
Wednesday 16 August, 10am–12pm – Gipsyville Library
Thursday 17 August, 10am–12pm – Freedom Centre Library
Friday 18 August, 10am–12pm – Greenwood Library

Summer Week 5 – Alphabet Adventure

This week, the team at North Carr Partnership invite you to go exploring on an Alphabet Adventure. Go for a walk and photograph or collect as many items as you can, each starting with a different letter of the alphabet. 

Monday 21 August, 10am–12pm – Bransholme Library
Tuesday 22 August, 10am– 12pm – Central Library
Wednesday 23 August, 10am–12pm – Gipsyville Library
Thursday 24 August, 10am–12pm – Freedom Centre Library
Friday 25 August, 10am–12pm – Greenwood Library

Summer Week 6 – Dis-ability

The Choices and Rights Disability Coalition have asked us to think about disability and challenging our own perceptions of what disability means to us. Take a photo, make a recording, write a poem (or something else completely!) that challenges the word ‘disability’ – think about what limits you and your abilities?

Tuesday 29 August, 10am–12pm – Central Library
Wednesday 30 August, 10am–12pm – Gipsyville Library
Thursday 31 August, 10am–12pm – Freedom Centre Library
Friday 1 September, 10am–12pm – Greenwood Library


Event Type

  • Family Friendly

Venue

If you have purchased a ticket for an event/activity at this venue through hull2017.co.uk, please do not contact the venue direct with enquiries for that purchase as they will be unable to help.

Opening times

Monday Varies
Tuesday Varies
Wednesday Varies
Thursday Varies
Friday Varies
Saturday Varies
Sunday Varies