• Summary
  • Dates
  • Venue
  • Credits

Summary

An exhibition of life size sculptures by Icelandic artist Steinunn Thórarinsdóttir will be placed around the campus stimulating thought and refection about the historic connection between Iceland and Hull.

Cairns are a common sight in the Icelandic landscape and were used as landmarks for people to find their way from one place to another. They were also often placed on coastlines to guide ships to harbour. The figures on campus portray frozen moments of contemplation and take on the form of human trail markers referencing themes of spirituality and physicality.

Steinunn has been working on figurative sculpture from the beginning of her career almost 40 years ago. Her figures are androgynous symbols of humanity. Steinunn is well known in Hull for her iconic sculpture Voyage overlooking the Humber estuary at Victoria Pier.

The University of Hull and the artist are pleased to celebrate the common cultural history and partnership of Hull and Iceland with this exhibition.

Please note this is an outdoor exhibition open all day.

Maps are also available from the Venn Reception, the Middleton Hall or the Brynmor Jones Library.

In case you are unfamiliar with the campus and wish to be guided, volunteers are on hand to take you around the trail. Please just ask any volunteer you see and they will direct you to the right place.

The trail is wheelchair friendly and easily accessible.


Event Type

  • Family Friendly

Suitability

All ages

Date Time Price  
Fri 18 Aug TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 19 Aug TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 20 Aug TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 21 Aug TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 22 Aug TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 23 Aug TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 24 Aug TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 25 Aug TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 26 Aug TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 27 Aug TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 28 Aug TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 29 Aug TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 30 Aug TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 31 Aug TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 1 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 2 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 3 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 4 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 5 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 6 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 7 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 8 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 9 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 10 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 11 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 12 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 13 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 14 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 15 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 16 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 17 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 18 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 19 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 20 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 21 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 22 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 23 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 24 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 25 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 26 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 27 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 28 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 29 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 30 Sep TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 1 Oct TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 2 Oct TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 3 Oct TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 4 Oct TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 5 Oct TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 6 Oct TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 7 Oct TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 8 Oct TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary

Venue

Hull
HU6 74X
01482 465148

www.hull.ac.uk

If you have purchased a ticket for an event/activity at this venue through hull2017.co.uk, please do not contact the venue direct with enquiries for that purchase as they will be unable to help.

Social Channels

Venue Access

  • Accessible Toilets
  • Assistance Dogs
  • Baby Changing
  • Blue-Badge Parking
  • Level Access
  • Wheelchair Access

Opening times

Monday Varies
Tuesday Varies
Wednesday Varies
Thursday Varies
Friday Varies
Saturday Varies
Sunday Varies

Creative Credits

Presented by the University of Hull, Samskip and the Icelandic Embassy.