• Summary
  • Dates
  • Venue

Summary

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) and Hull 2017 have jointly commissioned Chile-based architects Pezo von Ellrichshausen and Swiss artist Felice Varini to design an ambitious temporary outdoor structure in response to the historic heart of Hull.   

A Hall For Hull is part of the Hull 2017 Look Up programme of public art installations and will transform Trinity Square with 16 galvanized steel columns arranged in a grid formation in front of Hull Minster to highlight the symmetry of its facade.  

Visitors to the installation will be able to inhabit each of the six-metre-high columns and experience varying light conditions created by perforations in the steel skin. The rigid geometry of the columns will be carefully distorted and redefined by the artwork of Varini, who explores the illusions of geometry through eye-deceiving photographic techniques, together with the tradition of pictorial representation. 

The project, supported by the British Council, has been developed through an invited competition for an architectural and artistic collaboration, with a brief to create a temporary intervention designed specifically for Trinity Square. Hull 2017 and RIBA have been working closely with Hull Minster to develop the project. The built structure will launch on Monday 2 October 2017, as part of the fourth season of Hull’s City of Culture year entitled Tell The World.  

The work will challenge the way we think about architecture and the city and will invite new ways to imagine the use of public space.


Event Type

  • Family Friendly

Date Time Price  
Tue 24 Oct TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 25 Oct TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 26 Oct TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 27 Oct TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 28 Oct TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 29 Oct TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 30 Oct TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 31 Oct TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 1 Nov TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 2 Nov TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 3 Nov TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 4 Nov TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 5 Nov TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Mon 6 Nov TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Tue 7 Nov TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Wed 8 Nov TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Thu 9 Nov TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Fri 10 Nov TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sat 11 Nov TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary
Sun 12 Nov TBC Free  
Add to Itinerary

Venue

Hull
HU1 2JJ

If you have purchased a ticket for an event/activity at this venue through hull2017.co.uk, please do not contact the venue direct with enquiries for that purchase as they will be unable to help.

Venue Access

  • Assistance Dogs
  • Level Access

Opening times

Monday 24 hours
Tuesday 24 hours
Wednesday 24 hours
Thursday 24 hours
Friday 24 hours
Saturday 24 hours
Sunday 24 hours